Day #5: Scrivener, Leviathan, Behind

WORDCOUNT GOAL: 8,333
CURRENT WORDCOUNT: 7,667

Despite the less-than-glowing review I gave Scrivener several months ago, I am in fact giving it another shot. I’ve been wanting to branch out beyond yWriter5, which I’ve been using for some time. There’s nothing particularly wrong with yWriter5, but it’s reached the point where I’ve used it long enough to know what I really want out of a word-processor that’s geared more toward noveling than your vanilla Microsoft Word or Notepad or One Note or whatever.

I’ll be honest, one of my main complaints about this program was how complicated it seemed. I will still stand by my statement that the manual or tutorial or whatever is overly wordy and makes the whole thing like a bigger pain in the ass than it really is. It also helps that I had a clear mind of what I wanted to do, instead of typing “butts butts butts” everywhere I could and coming up with characters named “Butts McGee” and “Butticus Buttpherson.”

It’s got some nifty features, for sure. I can’t get over that nagging feeling that something’s missing, but for now, this is good. It might be that what’s missing is something to do with me, and not the program. So yes, I am pretty stoked about the 50% discount on Scrivener that winners of Camp NaNoWriMo will receive. Woohoo!

Ahem.

I’ve also started reading another book, this time to participate in the Geek Girls Book Club book of the month thingymadendum. I follow them on Facebook and Goodreads but don’t really do much else but occasionally comment on a status. However, they announced on June 1st (or somewhere thereabouts) that the book they’d be reading this month would be Scott Westerfield’s Leviathan, and I thought, why not?

My goal is to read two chapters a day (allowing me to finish up a bit earlier than the end of the month… I have some breathing room, even after managing to get hold of the book a bit late). I was too poor to buy it, but my lovely friend Ellyn was gracious enough to lend me her copy – and to deliver it to my apartment herself! So much thanks to Ellyn for perpetuating my nerddom.

Westerfield’s writing, by the end of chapter two, is compelling enough to keep me reading, although it’s not yet blowing my mind. However, I’ve also got to keep in mind that this is YA lit, and not the kind of YA lit I’m used to, either. I had to keep myself from reading ahead of the schedule I’d set for myself. Since I don’t have a job, I’ve got a list of tasks for each day I’m assigning myself. So far… (not in any particular order)

  • Work on NaNo novel
  • Do dishes (either from breakfast or the day before)
  • Take care of business (QoS or ISU-Con)
  • Apply to at least 7 jobs
  • Read Leviathan chapters
  • Laundry/other chores

At some point I will work in “trip to the gym” in there, but until I can get caught up with all the laundry, that ain’t happening.

I’m a bit behind on my wordcount for NaNo, but less out of not being able to write and more out of putting off writing. I got a bit swallowed up by, erm, Facebook games. Whoops. I’m actually going to finish up before I go to bed (which, although it won’t count as “winning” on the last day, is good enough for me here in the first week), which will be here soonly.

G’night!

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on June 5, 2012, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

