Day #3: Catching Up and Chillin’ Out

WORDCOUNT GOAL: 5,000
CURRENT WORDCOUNT: 5,541

Yesterday was my sister’s 22nd birthday, so I made my way to Indianapolis to hang out with her. Was kind of a small celebration, since our parents are out of town, but my brothers (13 and 15) made her a batch of gluten-free cupcakes* and some chocolate chip cookies.**

Happy Birthday, Lolo!

They could only manage to get a dozen cupcakes out of the mix, which is why there are two P’s on one cupcake. Oh well. It was still pretty neat! Lauren was laughing so much she couldn’t manage to blow out the candles, either so they helped her with that, too.

Then I sat down to deal with the daunting task of catching up with my Camp NaNoWriMo count. Yesterday the writing goal was was 3,333 words, and I had managed to conjure a measly 238. Whoooo.

So after having a bit of a Legend of Korra marathon with one of my brothers, I decided to blast through the 3,100 words I was behind and get caught up in time to just have to do today’s 1,667 words. It took me until 3:30am (meaning I didn’t roll out of bed until about 1:45 this afternoon), but I got it done. I also apparently managed to get to today’s wordcount goal without realizing it, which tells you how out of it I was by the time that I finally called it quits and went to bed.

Working title of SEXY WEREWOLF TIEM has been changed to a new working title of Feral Call, suggested by, yes, Chris of Binary Expletive. SEXY WEREWOLF TIEM, while funnier, may be a bit more offensive to my family members than Feral Call. Eventually I’ll stop worrying about things like that, but for now I still occasionally have to phone my dad and say, “Uh, can you float me some cash for groceries maybe please?”

SEXAY, SEXAY WEREWOLF

This also comes up when you Google “sexy werewolf time.” I just… I have no words.

So far there’s been no sexiness in Feral Call but apparently my main character is a blacksmith. For some reason I keep thinking of him as a weird cross between Lord Maccon, from Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate, and Gendry, from Game of Thrones.

conall maccon

gendry

Come to think of it, now what I see those pictures side-by-side… they kind of look alike. (Although I will say that the image I had of Conall Maccon while I was reading Soulless is not what ended up in the manga… although I’m certainly not complaining. I just expected him to be more… barrel-chested.)

Butts!

###

* My sister is allergic to wheat, eggs, dairy, mold, trees, grass, pollen, cats, dogs, and pretty much everything else.

** The cookies were premade, just frozen, so all they had to do was heat them up. But as you can see from the picture, it was all part of a pretty creative idea.

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on June 3, 2012, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awww….. that lady werewolf is cute.

  2. That werewolf illustration is hilarious. 🙂

    Good luck with camp!

Leave a Reply

