What I’ve Been Doing While You’ve Been Writing Fiction for QoS

  1. Video Games
  2. Forgetting to shower
  3. Eating chocolate chip cookies for breakfast
  4. Job hunting from my couch
  5. Spamming the call for submissions

English: Half a dozen home-made cookies. Ingre...No, but seriously, that’s pretty much what I’ve been up to.

What happens is, someone lends me a video game, and then I hog Eric’s Xbox 360 until either (a) I beat the game, (b) I forget I have it in my possession, or (c) the game pisses me off enough that I rage!quit and give it back to the owner, lying about how much I loved it. Since I’m playing Assassin’s Creed: Revelations, I’m not sure how likely option (b) is at this point, but it’s still a 50/50 between (a) and (c). I love this game, it’s beautiful, why did I go this long without playing an AC game that wasn’t on the PSP? But it pisses me off because why won’t it do what it’s supposed to when I’m following the button-pushing instructions to a “t” seriously omg.

Since I don’t have a job, and most of my friends are either out of town for the summer or do have jobs, I’ve not had much reason to leave my apartment. I make a trip to Walmart when I run out of food. I stay up til midnight or one or two in the morning, and I sleep til noon, and then I lay around on my couch and play video games and, really, I’m not trying to impress anybody, so what’s the point? Also I just forget. And I’m lazy. Too lazy, in fact, to scramble a few eggs, so breakfast the last couple days has been chocolate chip cookies and raspberry Diet Rite. At about 10pm I remember to eat again because I get a headache and then I eat ramen or ravioli or something just as uninspiring.

I’ve also been doing a lot of job-hunting (when I’m not assassinating people in-game). Misti Wolanski has put it into my head that I could make a living proofreading and editing and line-editing or copyediting or dancing or something like that, and so I’ve put out a lot of emails and resumes and cover letters and not heard much back. But I did get a job to nanny 25 hours a week for $15 an hour, so at least I won’t starve.

Also, yes, we’re still accepting submissions for Qu33n of Spades’ Fiction Magazine!We’ve gotten a lot of submissions so far, but seriously guys, I’m inundated with poetry and I could probably use some more fiction. That doesn’t mean stop sending in poetry! We love poetry! But it is a fiction magazine, so please please please please please send in some fiction! I love you!

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Not Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

