Oh, Bother.

So, here’s what happened.

On February 4, 2011, I started this blog and purchased an upgrade which was, according to the site, supposed to last for an entire year before renewal. On January 7th, 2012, I was charged that renewal, despite not having the money in my account – which I WOULD have had if WordPress had actually given me a whole year and waited until the actual date. When I complained at WordPress, they were glad to reverse the transaction (which did not, however, take care of my overdraft fees)… but also removed my upgrade.

I’ve spent two weeks trying to explain to them that I should still have the upgrade, because one year has not passed since original purchase, but they’re being particularly obtuse about it, and I’m about to lose my cool. I just sent them another firmly worded-email accompanied with a screenshot showing the purchase date, hopefully that will get through to them. In some places I used capslock, I’m afraid.

Anyhow, apologies for all that. Until I get this sorted out, or the time to fix everything, you’re going to find several broken links. I’ll get to that eventually. Also, I’ll be getting back to regularly posted content here soon.

Until then, here’s a book review.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate, #2)Changeless by Gail Carriger

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s been a year since I read the first book in this series, Soulless, and I was eager to pick up the second one.

Changeless did not disappoint. The main characters and their supporting cast stayed true to the personalities built by the author in the previous book, something that can be a challenge for other writers, as I’ve noticed. I had several laugh-out-loud moments, and a moment of genuine sadness that would have elicited tears had I not been in public.

The plot was a LITTLE too busy; there were some things that were left undone that were acknowledge even by the characters, in a sort of shoulder-shrugging “oh well” sort of manner that I found more maddening that anything else. The new characters that surfaced were intriguing and, in general, I liked them. Plus, anything that mixes steampunk with Scotland is a winner in my mind.

There are a few stylistic things that Garriger does that get under my skin; the switching of POVs in the same paragraph, and the habit of stating what a character’s personality traits are (although, in her defense, she does later do the actual SHOWING, and so I chalk the whole thing up to an Austen-like quality to her writing), and the occasional phrase or word that seems inappropriately modern even given the alternate-history setting.

All things considered, though, I devoured the last 150pgs of this book in one sitting, and am just now sitting down to start reading the next book in the series.

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on January 22, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

