My Year in Books

Back in February, when Snowmageddon hit, I decided to set a reading goal for myself of 35 books for the year of 2011. It didn’t seem like much – something I would blow through – and then sometime in June I realized I was something like four books behind and I thought, “Huh.”

Last night I apparently finished my reading goal for the year, just in time for finals. Some of them were fantastic, some of them were absolute crap, some of them were for school. Nonetheless, I read 35 books, amounting to over 13,000 pages.

And now, for your reading pleasure, here’s my year in books!

January

Thunderer Felix Gilman (review)
Soulless Gail Carriger
Sandman Slim Richard Kadrey (reviews for this and Soulless)
Halibut Rodeo Mark Lewandowski (review)

February

Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man Steve Harvey*
Johannes Cabal the Necromancer Jonathan L. Howard (review)

March

Kiss & Tell MariNaomi (review)

April

The Eye of the World Robert Jordan (review)
A Fistful of Fire Misti Wolanski (review)
At the Mountains of Madness H.P. Lovecraft (review)

June

The Gathering Dark Jeff Grubb
City of Bones Cassandra Clare (review)
The Goddess Test Aimee Carter (review)
Go the F*ck to Sleep Adam Mansbach

July

Game of Thrones George R. R. Martin (review)
Clash of Kings George R. R. Martin

August

Batman: The Long Halloween Jeff Loeb

September

The Country Wife William Wycherly
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns Frank Miller
Storm of Swords George R. R. Martin
Gulliver’s Travels Jonathan Swift
The Best American Poetry of 2010 (review)
The Taming of the Shrew William Shakespeare
Love in Excess Eliza Haywood
Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood Marjane Satrapi
Watchmen Alan Moore
Persepolis: The Story of a Return Marjane Satrapi

October
The Beggar’s Opera John Gay
PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2010
A Feast for Crows
George R. R. Martin (review)
Ghost Story Jim Butcher (review)
With the Light… Vol 1: Raising an Autistic Child Keiko Tobe

November
Dream Country Neil Gaiman

December
Fantasy Freaks and Gaming Geeks Ethan Gilsdorf

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

