My New Year’s Bookolution

I’m never much for New Year’s resolutions. They always end up crap or broken within a month, if not sooner, and I never recall ever succeeding in one, ever.*

Therefore, I have decided that I will create a tangible goal, trackable with cool internet widgets and enjoyable in every way (hopefully).

I give you… the New Year’s Bookolution!

In 2012, I will set a goal of the number of books I want to read before December 31, 2012. In fact, I’m even going to name some of them specifically, because there’s plenty of books I know I want to read, or plenty I’ve started and never finished. Here’s what I’ve got so far!

(1) A Dance with Dragons, George R. R. Martin

I’ve already started on this a few days ago, and I expect to have it finished by New Year’s (maybe). But yes, this will be the first book out of the gate. (I’ll still count it even if I finish it before January hits.) I’ve been holding onto this book since very nearly the day it was released, and with winter coming, it seems only appropriate to dive into the world of Martin and experience the long winter descending there.

(2) The Strange Affair of Spring-Heeled Jack, Mark Hodder

This is one I started just before a bunch of reading assignments for class started, and I got a good bit of the way through it and then left off. I’m determined to finish it. The writing is a little slow at points, but the world makes up for it, and I’ve reconciled myself to the voice for the most part after deciding that it’s On Purpose, and therefore okay.

(3) Angelology, Danielle Trussoni

I put this one down in favor of something else, but I’m not sure what. I’m not too terribly impressed with it, truth be told, but it isn’t awful. Probably should get around to finishing it this year.

Sadly, he missed the Cullens.(4) Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter, Seth Grahame Smith

I was actually very much enjoying this book when I put it down partway through, and I can’t remember why I stopped reading it. While the zombies craze has never appealed to me – in fact, it’s almost repelled me – and the vampire craze hasn’t touched me much since I realized that Amelia Atwater-Rhodes was not nearly as good in her early years as I thought she was and was instead more of an Anne Rice fangirl. Nevertheless, I will finish this book!

(5) The Paradise War, Stephen R. Lawhead

I’m not a huge fan of it, I stopped reading it in favor of A Song of Ice and Fire, but I’m more than halfway through it, so I might as well finish it. And remember to never read a free Kindle book again.

A Number of Books I Own but Haven’t Touched Yet, Including:

(6) The Scar, China Mieville
(7) Mercury Falls, Robert Kroese
(8) Hunter, Wil Wheaton
(9) Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul, John Eldredge**
(10) Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen
(11) The Woman in White, Wilkie Collins
(12) Dark Prince, Christine Feehan
(13) The Dream of Perpetual Motion, Dexter Palmer
(14) Day Watch, Sergei Lukyanenko

Certainly there are a great many more books on my to-read list, but these will be the immediate ones.

Reading goal? This year I set out to read 35 books, and I did it! So this year… let’s try 40. Just raise the bar a bit.

ALL OF THEM.

What are you looking forward to reading in 2012? Anything that I should add to my list?

 

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

* Except on accident. This year I did reach my goal of losing fifteen pounds, but only because I had The Little Flu That Could for the better part of a month.

** If you’re thinking, “Huh. That’s not her typical reading fare,” then you’re correct. My father wants me to read this book so that he and I can sit down and talk about it later. I’m not sure how to feel about this, but it’s important to him, so I’ll go ahead and read it.

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

