Blug.

So… it’s been a while. Clearly.

More or less this semester has pretty much wrecked by ability/enthusiasm/time to write. I didn’t even get more than 11,000 words into my NaNoWriMo novel, and the last 3,000 were apparently smut (I swear, I didn’t do it on purpose… it just happened). Also I got the stomach flu, which held on for dear life, missed Thanksgiving, pulled an all-nighter to finish a project for my comic book class*, and more or less am trying to survive this semester because guys I’m serious this semester is hell.

Originally when I started writing this blog I was keeping to this specific schedule. Like, on Tuesdays I would write Top 10 lists and on Fridays I would post flash fiction and on Sundays I would discuss words like “trope” even though I really don’t understand those words either. And I’m going to stop doing that, because if it was working I’d still be doing it and since I probably convinced a lot of you that I’d wandered off somewhere and died, it’s obviously not working.

So, I’m still going to focus a lot on writing but some of my personal life may sneak in, which might be fine. Probably. I’m going to talk more about my craft adventures, probably, and probably going to pick up my guitar at some point and write some songs about things that I like, like Doctor Who and that weird dream I had last night about making chocolate milkshakes with William Shatner.**

Anyhow, I’m exhausted right now and really wanting to just curl up in bed with my copy of Dance with Dragons that I am FINALLY getting to, so I’l say goodnight here and think of something more substantial to write for y’all over the weekend.

EDIT (11:21 PM): So, I just added some new creative writing to the “flash fiction” section. It’s actually closer to creative nonfiction, an assignment I had for a class, to start a creative nonficition piece and model it after a piece we’d read in class. So, clearly, it’s not finished, but I thought I’d share it anyway.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

* If I can find the time and a scanner big enough to handle it, I might upload the pages here. The Techno Jesus and I partnered up for this project and created a sort of modern-day adaptation of The Elf-King. Techno Jesus is a major fan of Goethe but doesn’t have a clue what Faust is, which makes me want to cry a little bit.

** Svelte and cool-looking TOS William Shatner, not weird and kind of pathetic ST:V William Shatner.

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Not Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your link to my site is sort of broken. Also, I know about Faust. The question is whether you mean Goethe’s Faust or the original German legend. I do really like Goethe, but he practically invented ripping off the public domain. ;-P

Leave a Reply

