Birthday Post

So I guess it’s my birthday or something. Is that why I’m wearing a skirt, heels, and a new blouse, bedecked in jewelery and whatnot on campus? Probably. I like excuses to dress up.

Anyhow, I haven’t posted in ages. Eons. I figured I would get that out of the way now, because birthday!

deAngelis is on hiatus for a while – I need to step away and let it simmer for a bit. So now I’m working on some preliminary planning for Steel, which I will commence this NaNoWriMo. Originally it was posted on Fictionpress as The Edgemaster, and while it was very good for a fourteen-year old, it simply will not do for a twenty-three-year old.

I’m nearly halfway through reading Feast for Crows. I’ve already got a long list of books that I’ll be reading after this one.

A Dance with AWESOME1. A Dance with Dragons – George R. R. Martin

This kind of goes without saying, since I tend to finish whatever series I’m reading before moving on to something else. The copy I actually have sitting on my desk right now is a signed hardcover copy, which was a gift from the woman I accompanied to the book signing in Carmel, IN. I’ve never stood on my feet in a book store for so long, but it was SO worth it.

For someone who isn’t too terribly into high fantasy, I am in love with this series. I squealed like a Bieber fan when I saw the mini-trailer for season 2 of the show. While I will miss Boromir Sean Bean, Peter Denklage totally rocks my world, and I can’t wait to see how they handle the next few plot things.

2. Ghost Story – Jim Butcher The follow-up to the most painful not-technically-a-cliffhanger EVER.

As avid a Dresden Files fangirl as I am, it pains me that I haven’t yet read this book. It’s sitting, brand new, on my desk, hardcover (and only $8, including shipping!) – and I haven’t even read the first words. I’m afraid to even touch, for fear that I will get sucked in and then not be able to stop, with Feast for Crows and Dance with Dragons still unfinished. The ending of the previous book, Changes, was not technically a cliffhanger, but oh god did it twist my insides and make me wish I had a T.A.R.D.I.S. so that I could jump to July 16th and read this book.

DON’T TELL ME ANYTHING ABOUT IT EVERYONE WANTS TO GIVE ME SPOILERS SHUT UP

I admit to being a closet girl.3. Pegasus – Robin McKinley

Robin McKinley is kind of everything I want to be when I grow up – a brilliant writer with multiple published books with a lovely garden, opportunities to go to the theater whenever I want, and a primary address in Scotland. I’ve more or less been in love with her since I was seven or eight years old, when I first read The Blue Sword. Her most recent novel, Pegasus (also in brand-new hardcover, for stupid cheap) is sitting on my shelf as well. I’ve read the first chapter or so, becaues I was bedridden little while ago and this book was the only one that I could reach without actually physically pulling myself out of bed and dragging myself down the hallway to my desk.

I don’t read very many YA novels anymore. The whole genre seems to have split into the Twilight-esque camp or the fanfiction-esque camp or, worse, taken up dual citizenship in both camps. I’m still using brain bleach after the train wreck that was City of Angels. McKinley, though, has never disappointed me.

4. Bloodlist – P. N. Elrod I expect "What would happen if Thomas Raith and Nick & Nora Charles had a baby."

I have no idea what to expect from this book. I managed to get it for two or three dollars off of Amazon used;I coudl not for the life of me find it in a bookstore, or even new online. I read a short story with these characters written by the author in Dark and Stormy Knights, and I liked it quite a bit. For two or three bucks, I can stand to read a two-hundred-some-odd page novel that I know nothing about. Time to take a chance! Yeah!

Everything else is on my Kindle, and since everything I’ve been reading for the last few months are actually books instead of ebooks, I kind of forget what I’ve got on there. However, I know I did manage to download The Hunger Games for ninety-nine cents, so I’ll likely be reading that, if only to see what the fuss is all about.

Also, in case I didn’t mention it, IS MY BIRFDAY

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on October 3, 2011, in Not Writing, Reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Have you read Deerskin?
    … gave me nightmares. Not saying it’s bad, mind.

    • I read Deerskin several years ago, yes. It wasn’t necessarily my favorite, but I did very much enjoy it. I’d likely have to reread it in order to be able to quote the plot at someone, though. And yes, it was very… intense, so I understand your nightmares.

Leave a Reply

