This Post is Full of Derps

HEY LOOK YOU GUYS I’M A NERD.

This is the symbol of the air benders from Avatar: The Last Airbender. And I mean the cartoon, not that train wreck some people call a "movie."

Seriously though, this whole post is essentially going to be me dicking around for 1,000 words or so. If you came here for writerly wisdom advice psychobabble, you’re probably better off finding the closest public restroom and perusing the crude graffiti there.*

Essentially today I just feel like crap (read: my leg hurts), so I’m not going to put any real effort into this post, except to tell you about things that I plan on doing next week.

Flash Fiction Fridays

One of the most important things I think a writer can do is to write. I know that sounds like a no-brainer, but a lot of times I find that people will refuse to work on anything that isn’t their magnum opus, and if they’ve got writer’s block there, they just don’t write anything at all. For days. For months. Yes, I’m guilty of this, too, but it really is so important to write every day – even if it’s just a little bit. Journaling. Blogging. A shit poem about how much writer’s block sucks. Therefore, in the same way that I do Top 10 Tuesday, I’m going to start doing Flash Fiction Friday.

Flash fiction – Fiction of extreme brevity. There is no widely accepted definition of the length of the category. Some self-described markets for flash fiction impose caps as low as 300, while others consider stories as long as 1000 words to be flash fiction.

I’m just going to pick a prompt from somewhere – the books I’ve got lying around, the internet, something one of my readers suggests below in the comments of each Friday post… and then I’m going to write, anywhere from 300 to 1,000 words. And the I’ll post it for you to read on Friday. And if you want to do the prompt, too, do that, and I’ll put it up for you the following Friday, because we’re writers here, yeah? and we all need to give each other a hand.

Also, that dictionary-like thing got me thinking, so I think I’ll also institute another “official day of the week” for this blog. It’ll be… um…

Elemental** Sunday***

I’m just going to pull a literary term out of my butt and spend the whole post talking about it. Not writing-process stuff; stuff like all of the crap that you learn in your high school English class and write 15-page research papers on in college. You know, symbolism and motifs and all that other crap that you’re pretty sure the author did purely on accident.†

I think having a bit more structure to what I’m writing during the week will keep me from wasting everybody’s time. The other days of the week will be me talking about the writing process, how my own writing is going, stuff going on in the publishing business, and reviews of books I’m reading. Eventually I’ll post crap about stuff that’s going on in my real life.††

Okay I think that’s all the pathetic I can manage for one night, I’m going to go have a delicious glass of cranberry-raspberry juice and stitch the firebender symbol now.

EDIT: Holy crap, you guys. I can’t believe I forgot about this: a HUGE thanks to Alexander Ragle, a friend of mine from college and only member of the band Explosions 4 Freedom. He designed the banner you see above (scroll up and stare at it hard for a minute) just for poops and giggles, because I whined on Facebook about wanting a custom banner. Alexander is a Cool Dude,††† so you should go check out his stuff and buy a CD from him, because it is Cool Music and also it doesn’t cost a lot.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

* Side note: the coolest graffiti I ever saw, actually, was a very well done portrait of Bob Dylan on the side of a building in an alley just off of the square in Noblesville, IN, by the old courthouse. There was a picture of Calvin & Hobbes nearby as well, but it paled in comparison to Dylan. Sadly, I don’t think it’s there anymore.

** Not this kind of elemental:

*** I couldn’t think of any alliteration to go with this one. It makes me feel kind of disappointed in myself.

† I’m still fairly sure that the pomegranate juice from Thomas Mann‘s Death in Venice didn’t symbolize flipping anything. I think the man liked pomegranate juice. And why shouldn’t he? Pomegranate juice is delicious.

†† I’m just messing about right now because I really haven’t done anything this week except cross-stitch that airbender symbol, do some stuff for the Statesman, and eat sandwiches. I haven’t even done the dishes in a week.

††† One of the reasons I adore Alexander so much is that you really have to pay attention when you’re having a conversation with him. You’ll be talking about one thing and then some crazy brilliant synapse in the guy’s head that is so brilliant that you do not even understand the road it must have taken to communicate to the other synapse fires and you are talking about something that, to you, seems completely unrelated, but really it’s just because you are just not as cool as Alexander.‡

‡ Alexander: I’m serious, conversations with you never get boring because the topics never get worn out. It’s awesome. Also you are the only serious guitarist I’ve met who wasn’t a jerk since the serious guitarist I dated in high school who was a jerk. So yeah. You win all the things.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Not Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

