Good Reads (and Goodreads)

I’ve been working on Eye of the World for the better part of two months now, if not more. While I’m enjoying it, it’s definitely epic fantasy – not something that I’m used to. My Kindle tells me that I’m 64% through the book, even though it feels like I should have finished three or four books by now*.

Speaking of books, I discovered GoodReads several weeks ago, and oh man am I in love. Apparently the rest of the internet knew about this site long before I did, which isn’t much surprise, but if nothing else, that means a lot of the cool stuff was already there by the time I arrived.

One of the books that I was able to get my hands on (for free! yay contests!) through GoodReads and devour in the space of a day was Mari Naomi’s Kiss & Tell. It’s this lovely graphic novel that is so brutally honest and vulnerable that you can’t help but be entranced by the damn thing. I didn’t even get mad at Boyfriend for sleeping away the entire afternoon, because as long as he was out cold, I could keep on reading.

A book that’s also out by a Fictionpress-er that I used to review avidly is A Fistful of Fire, by Misti Wolanski. I haven’t read the novel since… well, I was a freshman in high school at the oldest, so nearly a decade, I reckon. I understand that she’s made a lot of edits to it, and I went ahead and bought it (it’s cheap! you should buy it, too!) and it’s on my Kindle, waiting to be consumed. I intend to get to it as soon as I finish Eye of the World.

Also I should finish reading City of Bones at some point, although I’m less than enthusiastic about it. If you care to know why, here’s a link to my attempt to read it from last semester…**

After those two, others on my list are How to Live Safely in a Science Fiction Universe, The Scar, Love in the Time of Cholera, and Under Heaven. Those are the immediate ones, anyhow. My full list is sitting at about fifty novels, and grows almost daily. At least I won’t have to sit around wondering what to read next.†

 

* – The only book I’ve ever read more slowly than this is Mieville’s Perdido Street Station. Now, don’t get me wrong, Mieville’s kind of ridiculously good at his craft, but my god that book felt like it was sucking my soul out through one of my ribs. I mean seriously.

** – If you can’t impress me within the first page of your novel, I’m likely going to be cynical as well through the rest of it. Assuming I do read the rest of it. Ridiculous, I know, but there are lots of books out there and I don’t have time to waste on those that are sub-par. ***

*** – Which makes me wonder why I bothered reading Twilight.

† – All of these novels will, however, get shoved to the side whenever a new Dresden Files novel comes out. I’m on the verge of peeing my pants, waiting for Ghost Story to come out.

About Kayla Rose

Leave me alone, let me drink my tea and write my snark.

Posted on April 8, 2011, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

